Loyola University Chicago

John Felice Rome Center


May 7-9, 2012

John Felice Rome Center of Loyola University Chicago

The John Felice Rome Center of Loyola University Chicago is hosting the fifth international conference on Critical Theory of Rome, which will be held at its campus in Rome, Italy – Via Massimi 114/A.

The conference will examine the importance and the developments of the Frankfurt School by addressing both the philosophical tradition of the early stages of Critical Theory – and in particular the works of Walter Benjamin, Theodor W. Adorno, Max Horkheimer and Herbert Marcuse – as well as the application of their theories to our contemporary society.

In order to reflect the wide range of topics addressed by Critical Theory, the conference will cover different aspects of philosophical reflection on justice, politics, aesthetics, sociology, technology, literature and any other relevant field of study.

The conference will be held at the Rome Center of Loyola University Chicago onMay 7-9, 2012.  It will begin on Monday morning and end by Wednesday afternoon (with a welcoming reception on the evening of Sunday, May 6).  During the sessions, each speaker will have 30 minutes. All presentations will be made in English.

To download the program of the conference Click Here    


Stefano Giacchetti Ludovisi, Loyola University Chicago, JFRC


Keynote speakers:

Idit Dobbs - Weinstein, Vanderbilt University

Alessandro Ferrara - University of Rome, Tor Vergata

Andrew Feenberg - Simon Fraser University, Vancouver

Stefano Petrucciani - University of Rome, La Sapienza


Presentations from:

João Azevedo Abreu, University of Cambridge

Silvia Baglini, University of Pisa

Tim Beasley-Murray, University College London

Rok Benčin, Institute of Philosophy, Ljubljana

Marc Berdet, Potsdam Universität

Jacob Blumenfeld, New School for Social Research

Christopher Bradd, York University, Toronto

Christopher Craig Brittain, University of Aberdeen

Sébastien Broca, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne

Tom Bunyard, Goldsmiths

Ricardo Camargo, Universidad Alberto Hurtado, Santiago-Chile

Michele Capasso, Università degli studi "L'Orientale" di Napoli

Matthew Charles, CRMEP, Kingston

Guido Croxatto, University of Buenos Aires

Edward Cutler, Brigham Young University

Elise Derroitte, Université Catholique de Louvain

Mark Devenney, University of Brighton

Dan-Bogdan Dragomirescu, Babes-Bolyai University, Cluj-Napoca

Anita Dremel, University o fZagreb

Terence Holden, EHESS Paris

Ana FitzSimons, University of East Anglia

Brian Fuller, York University

Samir Gandesha, Simon Fraser University, Vancouver

Richard Ganis, Lahore University, Pakistan

Graeme Gilloch, Lancaster University

Vasilis Grollios, Independent Researcher

Florian Grosser, University of St. Gallen

Claudie Hamel, Université de Montréal

Andy Hamilton, Durham University

Johan Hartle, University of Amsterdam

Birgit Hofstaetter, University o fBrighton

Phillip Homburg, University of Sussex

Jaakko Immonen, University of Brighton

Jaeho Kang, New School for Social Research

Konstantinos Kavoulakos, University of Crete

Michael Kelly, University of Leeds

Sami Khatib, Jan van Eyck Academie Maastricht

Lee Kuhnle, York University

Inara  Luisa Marin, Cebrap, São Paulo

Maurizio Meloni, University of Nottingham

Hugh Miller, Loyola University Chicago

Mena Mitrano, Loyola University Chicago, JFRC

Duston Moore - Indiana University-Purdue University, Fort Wayne

Daniel Mourenza, University of Leeds

Marcos Nobre, State University of Campinas, Brazil

Jeffry Ocay, Silliman University

Chris Okane, University of Sussex

Margherita Pascucci, Independent Researcher

Mathijs Peters, University of Essex

Leena Petersen, University of Sussex

Lars Rensmann, University of Michigan

Eric-John Russell, New School for Social Research

Georgios Sagriotis, Panteion & Patras

Luca Scafoglio, University of Salerno

DavidSchauffler, University of Silesia, Poland

Christina Schraml, University of Vienna

Paula Schwebel, University of Antwerp

DavidM. Seymour, Lancaster University

Jon Short, Jan Van Eyck Academie Maastricht

Brian Simbirski, University of Cambridge

Georgios E. Skoulas, University of Macedonia

Christian Smith, University of Warwick

Richard Stopford, Durham University

Simon Susen, City University London

Zoe Dominique Sutherland, University of Sussex

Michael J. Thompson, William Paterson University

Sebastian Truskolaski, Goldsmiths

Michael Walschots, University of Western Ontario

Dagmar Wilhelm, University of Bristol

Doğan Yaşat, Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University

For more information, contact:

Stefano Giacchetti Ludovisi, PhD – stefano.giacchetti@tiscali.it ; Tel: (+39) 06-81905467

Registrations for the conference, with payment of fees of 80 Euro (cash only), will open during the reception of May 6, and will last throughout the conference.

Sponsored by the John Felice Rome Center of Loyola University Chicago.