Loyola University Chicago

Student Government of Loyola Chicago

Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch

The Senate of the SGLC is comprised of thirty-five senators, with individuals representing each class. The Senate democratically forms the official voice of Loyola's undergraduate student body.

The legislative body is represented by the Speaker of the Senate, who runs and coordinates the Senate Meetings. Senate is divided into various committees made up of Senators from each class, as well as undesignated Senators. The committees tackle important issues brought before Senate and advocate for those issues with various administrators, staff, and faculty on campus.

There are six committees in the legislative branch. They are:

Academic Affairs


Facilities and Trasnportation


Residents, Commuters, and Dining

Safety and Wellness

In addition, special committees may be established by the Senate and will dissolve at the end of a SGLC term.

For a list of members that serve on the Legislative Branch, please click here.