Loyola University Chicago

School of Communication


Congratulations to SOC's Eight Student Crystal Pillar Award Nominees! 

Click the image above to view the 2022 Chicago/Midwest Emmy's promo video!

This year, the School of Communication has eight nominations for student Crystal Pillar awards (the student version of the Emmys) for the Chicago-Midwest region.  

The nominations include students directed by Elizabeth CoffmanJohn GoheenRichelle RogersAyesha Abouelazm, and Ben Uribe, and are as follows: 

Category C-3 Arts & Entertainment/Cultural Affairs  

On the Record – Asia Singleton (Richelle Rogers, John Goheen)  

How Jeff Lynne Got Those Fat-Sounding Drums – Henry Martin (E. Coffman)  

Category C-4a Short Form Fiction  

Less Than Three – Sabrina Balsink Krieg, Tim Mackle, Rachel Marsden, Olivia McClure, Liam Smart, Makenzie Creden, Molly Hunter, Genevieve Crawford, PJ McMahon, Mary Dixon (Ayesha Abouelazm’s class) 

Stay Positive –  Matthew Fink, Calia Marso, Kobey Davis, Jacqueline Southwell, Mary Dixon  (Ben Uribe’s class) 

Category C-4b Short Form Non-Fiction  

For Me, Forgiveness – Mary Rose Hefner (Richelle Rogers)  

The Greatest Gift  –  Lily Chen, Makenzie Creden, Gabe Paredes, Sydney Williams (Elizabeth Coffman’s class)  

Category C-6 Public Service Announcements/Ads 

Get Vaccinated! – Joshua Miller, Asia Singleton, Laura Godoy Figuera (John Goheen)  

Archview Restaurant – Jacqueline Davis, Tanvi Soans (John Goheen) 


The awards will be presented on Saturday, December 3, 2022. Watch Chicago Emmy Awards on CAN-TV19 at 7 pm and the Red Carpet Pre-Show at 4:30 pm at chicagoemmy.org! Click here.