Loyola University Chicago

School of Communication


Award Winning Students

Award Winning Students

Two Loyola School of Communication alumni have won Crystal Pillar awards from the Chicago/Midwest chapter of the National Academy of Arts and Sciences.  Lauren Smith won for outstanding news reporting and Matt Grcic for Arts & Entertainment/Cultural Affairs.  Lauren Smith did her winning project as part of Lee Hood’s class, Matt Grcic’s was a project for one of John Goheen’s courses.  Loyolan Elise Haas was awarded a $4,000 NATAS Foundation scholarship.

Other Loyola students helped with the production of the awards ceremony, and Lee Hood produced backstage coverage of the event which took place Nov. 7th.