Loyola University Chicago

School of Communication


Debate Team Champions of Hollatz Debates

Debate Team Champions of Hollatz Debates

Wheaton College hosted the Hollatz Debate Tournament November 6th and 7th in Wheaton Illinois. Teams from Purdue, Loyola, Cedarville, Wheaton, NIU, Patrick Henry, Grove City and McKendree competed in the event. After 9 debates on a variety of topics including banking, the internet, and human rights, Loyola emerged victorious.

Senior Joe Carroll, the team president, and first-year Brody Deihn won the Championship with a final round decision over a team from Grove City. Next up for the team is a competition at Oxford University. This marks the third consecutive year a team from Loyola Chicago has been selected to compete at Oxford.