Loyola University Chicago

Division of Student Development

Maroon & Gold Society

Maroon & Gold Society

Maroon & Gold Society 2023-24 cohort

History of Maroon & Gold Society

Loyola University Chicago established the Maroon & Gold Society during the 2011-2012 academic year to recognize rising seniors who have demonstrated a commitment to leadershipacademic excellence, and service to others. Members represent a cross-section of undergraduate communities and leadership paths at the university. Each spring, students are nominated by faculty and staff for membership in the Maroon & Gold Society. Once nominations are screened and reviewed, eligible students are asked to submit an online application. A small committee then reviews all applications and makes a recommendation of 25 top students to the Vice President for Student Development and the university president, who then make the final selection of the new class of the Maroon & Gold Society. The new class is recognized at the annual Excellence Awards Ceremony in April.  The outgoing and incoming classes are also invited to a special Induction Dinner with the president of the university and select administrators. It is during this dinner when new members receive their official maroon cardigan and lapel pin.

The Maroon & Gold Society has evolved each year, with the consistent goal of recognizing members for their exemplary leadership and commitment to excellence.  In doing so, the Society intends to honor students who personify the efforts of Loyola University Chicago: to Prepare People to Lead Extraordinary Lives.  In doing so, Society members embrace the Jesuit ideal of Magis (pursuit of excellence and not settling for mediocrity).

The Five Pillars of Maroon & Gold Society: Academic Excellence, Diversity, Leadership, Loyola Community, and Service 

  • Academic Excellence:  Members may be asked to speak on panels, serve on committees and to represent student voice during conversations related to the academic experience at the university.

  • Service:  Members will engage in a strategic community partnership, such as serving as site leaders for the Saturday of Service.

  • Diversity: Members will support Loyola’s commitment to create a more inclusive campus climate for all students.

  • Leadership: Students exemplify leadership in organizations and offices across campus, and beyond.

  • Loyola Community: Members may assist with projects or committees that enhance the LUC community, and act as university ambassadors at events. Intentional discussions at monthly meetings can inform these efforts.


Members of the Maroon & Gold Society are asked to share their authentic student experiences with administrators, alumni, and other members of the LUC community. Members are expected to uphold a standard of leadership by maintaining involvement with a leadership role in various groups or departments around campus. All members are expected to uphold the values of the Student Promise as well as the policies written in the Community Standards.

Benefits for Members May Include

  • Participation as student ambassadors at major university functions/events

  • Experience communicating needs and desires of students with administrators or board members

  • Networking opportunities with Alumni

  • Participation in large-scale university sponsored events

Typical Programs and Initiatives Supported by the Maroon & Gold Society

  • Serve as Site Leaders for The Saturday of Service (coordinated by Community Service & Action)

  • Enjoy a meal and conversation with the University President

  • Assist with various university events 

  • Participate in the Senior Toast

  • Serve on the Excellence Awards Ceremony Committee 

  • Meet with university administration 

  • Engage in conversations about campus issues during monthly meetings 

2023-2024 M&G Society Members:

Jemima Abalogu
Alaina Abel
Lena Abushaban
Deena Al-Ali
Alexandra Brist
Adam Dajani
Eileen DeGuire
Sara Ferreira
Ashley Goldsmith
Sofia Khatoon
Elle Laurencelle
Madeleine Litka
Grace Maurer
Sarah Noonan
Tulsi Patel
Mereya Riopedre
Justin Ross
Sara Sadok
Esam Shah
Mia Silvestros
Jack Slaughter
Sitori Tanin
Avery Tritz
Grace Tylutki
Keaira Williams