Loyola University Chicago

School of Environmental Sustainability

Our People

Loyola's School of Environmental Sustainability (SES) provides students with the technical skills and experience to become innovative leaders in environmental research, policy, sustainability, and stewardship.

SES also strives to bring scientists, social scientists, engineers, policymakers, government, community, and industry leaders together to share knowledge and develop real-world solutions to environmental problems. These are the folks who help make that happen.

School of Environmental Sustainability Administrative Team

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Nancy Tuchman, PhD Founding Dean, School of Environmental Sustainability BVM Hall 307 773.508.2475
Aaron N. Durnbaugh, MS Director of Sustainability BVM Hall 209 773.508.7558
Sarah Hokenmaier, MPA Director of Strategy & Planning BVM Hall 308 773.508.8953
Linda Kurtos, JD and MS Assistant Dean for Graduate Programs, Lecturer BVM 210 773.508.2843
Rachel Leamon, MA Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Programs
Academic Advisor for BA Degrees within SES
BVM 315 773.508.8934
Christopher G. Peterson, PhD Associate Dean of Academics, School of Environmental Sustainability
Professor, Department of Biology
BVM Hall 316 773.508.2950
Enikö Rácz, MBA Assistant Director, Finance and Academic Business Operations BVM Hall 309 773.508.2142

SES Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Sasha Adkins, PhD and MPH Lecturer BVM 214 773-508-8922
Laura Brentner, PhD Lecturer BVM 215 773.508.3289
Andy Casper, PhD Lecturer BVM 406
Lopa Chakraborti, PhD Assistant Professor
JoBeth D'Agostino, PhD Faculty Emeritus Burrowes 209 773.508.7063
Mary Dinsmore, PhD Lecturer
Ray Dybzinski, PhD Assistant Professor BVM Hall 312 773.508.2486
Ping Jing, PhD Associate Professor,
Graduate Program Director
BVM Hall 423 773.508.7560
Benjamin Johnson, PhD Professor
Environmental Historian
Crown Center 544 773.508.3082
Reuben P. Keller, PhD Associate Professor BVM Hall 401 773.508.2952
Satomi Kohno, PhD Assistant Professor BVM Hall 314 773.508.8194
Roberta Lammers-Campbell, PhD Senior Lecturer Emerita LSB 241 773.508.3651 (LSC); 815.338.1032 (LUREC)
Nancy Landrum, PhD Professor of Sustainability Management BVM 315 773.508.8953
Richard (Max) Melstrom, PhD Endowed Associate Professor of Ecological Economics BVM Hall 424 773.508.2948
Gilbert Michaud, PhD Assistant Professor of Environmental Policy BVM Hall 415
Rev. Stephen Mitten, S.J., MS Senior Lecturer, Director of Undergraduate Research at LUREC BVM Hall 313; LUREC 773.508.8241
Timothy O’Brien, PhD Professor
Environmental Statistician
BVM Hall 413 773.508.2129
Brian Ohsowski, PhD Assistant Professor BVM 211 773.508.8920
Gregory Palmer, PhD Lecturer BVM 213 773-508-8254
Michael Schuck, PhD Professor, Department of Theology and School of Environmental Sustainability BVM 405 773.508.3817
Tania M. Schusler, PhD Assistant Professor
Solutions to Environmental Problems (STEP) Coordinator
BVM Hall 425 773.508.8954
Federico Sinche, PhD Lecturer BVM 410 773-508-3023
Mariana Valencia Mestre, PhD Lecturer BVM 422 773-508-8280
Yanning Wei, PhD Lecturer
GIS Lab Director
Bo Zhang, PhD Lecturer

Part Time Faculty

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Jennifer Burke, JD Instructor & Attorney WTC
Brendan Dailey, J.D. Instructor WTC
Richard DiMaio, MS Instructor BVM Hall 224 773.508.2842
Ann Erhardt, MM, ISSP-CSP Faculty Remote (616) 889-5977
Christine Hill, MEd Instructor, HS Dual Credit Highland Park High School
Howard Hill, MS Instructor, HS Dual Credit Highland Park High School 224.765.2269
Anuradha (Anu) Krishnaswamy, MLA Instructor BVM 422 773.508.8980
Drew Monks, MS Research Associate
SES 219 773.508.2122
Beth Peterson, MSSE/ME Instructor, HS Dual Credit Highland Park High School G107 224.765.2275
Michael Ribant, PhD Instructor BVM 226 773.508.8254
Maureen Stroud, MBA and MS Faculty
Sr. Manager Ecolabels and Manufacturers Resources – Green Electronics Council Principal - Shinka Sustainability Consultants

SES Staff Members

Name Title Office Phone and Email
Megan Conway, MS Sustainability Coordinator BVM Hall 225 773.508.8255
Rachel Elfant Healing Earth and THEA Project Manager Remote
Kevin Erickson Urban Agriculture Manager BVM Hall 222 773.508.8925
Allison Fabino Carr Analytical Lab Manager
SES Safety Officer
IES 317 773.508.2056
Stephanie Folk Marketing Communications Manager BVM 212 773-508-8334
Jory Kleemann Graduate Program Manager
Shane Lishawa, MS Research Associate 872.202.3029
Zach Waickman, MBA Senior Program Manager SES 109 773.508.8852
Christine Wolff IJEP Coordinator

Affiliated Faculty

NameTitleOfficePhone and Email
Dan Amick, PhD Associate Dean Emeritus   damick@luc.edu
Martin B. Berg, PhD Professor, Biology   773.508.8853 
James M. Calcagno, PhD Professor, Anthropology 
Director, Loyola Fellowship Office
BVM Hall 701 773.508.3472 
Domenic Castignetti, PhD Professor, Biology   773.508.3638 
M. Paul Chiarelli, PhD Professor, Chemistry   773.508.3106 
Elizabeth Coffman, PhD Associate Professor of Communications
Documentary Studies, Environmental Advocacy,
Media Outreach


Alanah Fitch, PhD Professor, Chemistry   773.508.3119 
Connie Fletcher, PhD Associate Professor, School of Communication SOC 210 312.915.6819
William C. French, PhD Associate Professor, Theology   773.508.2356 
John P. Frendreis, PhD Professor, Political Science   773.508.3054 
Timothy Hoellein, PhD Assistant Professor, Biology   773.508.8859 
Theodore Karamanski, PhD Professor, History 
Public History Graduate Director
Crown Center 517 773.508.2684 
John J. Kelly, PhD Professor, Biology   773.508.7097 
Konstantin Läufer, PhD Professor and Chairperson of Computer Science LT-531A 312.915.7983 
Mark A. Pollock, PhD Associate Professor, School of Communication 
Program Director, Communication Studies
Lewis Towers 907 312.915.6912 
Martina Schmeling, PhD Associate Professor, Chemistry
Graduate Program Director
Flanner Hall 408 773.508.3124