Loyola University Chicago

Department of Theology


2020 - 21 Winners of the Annual Undergraduate Paper Prize

2020 - 21 Winners of the Annual Undergraduate Paper Prize

The LUC Department of Theology is pleased to announce the winners of its undergraduate paper prize competition. Three prizes were awarded to encourage publication-level work in the fields of theology and religious studies and to reward talented undergraduates who have engaged in original work in a Theology or Religious Studies class here at LUC. The three prizes were awarded according to whether the paper was submitted from a 100, 200, or 300-level course.

A selection committee appointed by The Theology Department’s Undergraduate Learning Committee (ULC) chose the winners. Each winner receives a check for $50, along with public recognition on the Theology Department’s website, and recognition at our Annual Awards Ceremony.

2020 - 21 Annual Undergraduate Paper Prize Competition Winners

300-Level Prize Winner
“The Christological Performativity of Transgender and Non-Binary Fashion Design”
Maxwell Dziabis 

200-Level Prize Winner
“Rich Ruler Redaction & Economic Exegesis: Mark’s Rich Man (10:17-31) and Luke’s Rich Ruler (18:18-30)”
Gina E. Canavan

100-Level Prize Winner
“Routine and Ritual”
Anisha Jai Kapoor