Loyola University Chicago

- Navigation -

Loyola University Chicago

Dan K. Webb Center for Advocacy

School of Law

1L Advocacy Requirements

1L Advocacy Requirements

All first year students are required to attend two advocacy events during the course of the year in order to expose them to various aspects of the litigation process and prepare them for upper level courses.

First, each student must serve as a juror at one of the final trials of the upperclassmen in the Trial Practice courses. 1Ls are given an opportunity to observe a full-length trial, and to render a verdict. Students have several dates each year on which they may complete this requirement - final trials are held in November, January, April and May. To sign up for a Jury Duty date, click here.

The Jury Duty Dates for the 2012-2013 academic year are:

Thursday, October 10 from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 17 from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 24 from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Thursday, October 31 from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Thursday, November 14 from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Saturday, November 16 from 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Saturday, January 18, 2014 from 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Thursday, March 13, 2014 from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Thursday, March 20, 2014 from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Thursday, March 27, 2014 from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Thursday, April 3, 2014 from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Thursday, April 10, 2014 from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Thursday, April 24, 2014 from 5:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Saturday, April 26, 2014 from 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

There are limits to how many students may sign up for each day, and all students are required to complete this activity, so please sign up for a date as soon as possible.

Second, each student must attend one round of the Intraschool Moot Court Competition. This event allows first year students to observe the appellate process, as second year students compete against each other in rounds of oral arguments. The Intraschool Moot Court Competition is held in February.

The 36th Annual Intraschool Moot Court Competition dates are TBA for February 2012.

Please note that your 1L Legal Writing II grade will be withheld until these requirements are completed.

Loyola

SCHOOL OF LAW
Philip H. Corboy Law Center · 25 E. Pearson Street · Chicago, IL 60611 · 312.915.7120

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy