Loyola University Chicago

- Navigation -

Loyola University Chicago

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Faculty & Staff

Loyola programs are unique because of the close contact between students and faculty, due to smaller class sizes in advanced classes. Chemistry faculty members spend significant time assisting students both in and out of the classroom.

The diverse research interests of the faculty open up a wide range of research experiences to students. Ongoing work is well balanced between Analytical, Biochemistry, Inorganic, Organic, and Physical Chemistry. In addition there are adjunct faculty in the Biology and Physics Departments. Much of the current research transcends traditional boundaries to include fields such as bioorganic, bioinorganic, biophysical, and environmental chemistry.

The department has a full secretarial and stockroom staff, undergraduate lab coordinators and instrument technicians.

   Chairs & Directors

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Freitas, Duarte Chair FH-125 773.508.7045
dfreita@luc.edu
Ballicora, Miguel Assistant Chair FH-405 773.508.3154
mballic@luc.edu
Schmeling, Martina Graduate Program Director FH-408 773.508.3124
mschmel@luc.edu
Daubenmire, Patrick Undergraduate Program Director FH-415 773.508.8248
pdauben@luc.edu

Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Babler, James Professor Emeritus LSB-124 773.508.3764
jbabler@luc.edu
Becker, Daniel Associate Professor FH-215 773.508.3089
dbecke3@luc.edu
Chiarelli, M. Paul Professor FH-102 773.508.3106
mchiare@luc.edu
Ciszek, Jacob Associate Professor FH-122 773.508.3107
jciszek@luc.edu
Crumrine, David Professor FH-212 773.508.3114
dcrumri@luc.edu
Eichman, Chad Assistant Professor FH-213 773.508.3357
ceichman@luc.edu
Fitch, Alanah Professor FH-418 773.508.3119
afitch@luc.edu
Florian, Jan Associate Professor FH-314B 773.508.3785
jfloria@luc.edu
Graham, Daniel Professor FH-401 773.508.3169
dgraha1@luc.edu
Herlinger, Albert Professor Emeritus FH-303 773.508.3127
aherlin@luc.edu
Jaselskis, Bruno Emeritus Professor FH-104 773.508.3117
bjasels@luc.edu
Killelea, Daniel Assistant Professor FH-103 773.508.3136
dkillelea@luc.edu
Lee, Wei-Tsung Assistant Professor FH-402A 773-508-3205
wlee5@luc.edu
Liu, Dali Assistant Professor FH-422 773.508.3093
dliu@luc.edu
Olsen, Ken Professor FH-409 773.508.3121
kolsen@luc.edu
Pavkovic, Stephen Emeritus Professor 773.508.3100
spavko1@luc.edu

Instructors

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Brazdil, Linda Lecturer CS-420 773.508.3103
lbrazdil@luc.edu
Greene-Johnson, Willetta Lecturer FH-213 773.508.3537
wgreene@luc.edu
Helquist, Sandra Advanced Lecturer FH-200B 773.508.3139
shelquist@luc.edu
May, Donald Lecturer FH-403 773.508.3191
dmay4@luc.edu
Osner, Zachary Lecturer FH-200A 773-508-3138
zosner@luc.edu
Naleway, Conrad Lecturer FH-200C 773.508.3115
cnalewa@luc.edu
Shamsuddin, Mir Advanced Lecturer FH-403 773.508.3134
mshamsu@luc.edu
Szpunar, Carole Senior Lecturer FH-200B 773.508.3128
cszpuna@luc.edu

Laboratory

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Binaku, Katrina Lecturer FH-104 773.508.8715
kbinaku@luc.edu
Boerger, Angela Senior Lecturer FH-428 773.508.3135
aboerge@luc.edu
Eisenberg, Jessica Lecturer FH-104 773.508.8714
jeisenberg2@luc.edu
Orlof, Agnes Lecturer FH-428 773-508-2883
aorlof@luc.edu
Thomas, Timothy Senior Lecturer LSB-124 773.508.8115
tthoma1@luc.edu

Staff

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Grimm, Carol Office Assistant FH-125 773.508.3111
cgrimm@luc.edu
Hall, Denise Office Coordinator FH-125 773.508.3090
dhall1@luc.edu
Lind, Stacey Graduate Program Administrative Assistant FH-125 773.508.3104
slind@luc.edu
Mansour, Jack Electronics Technician FH-012 773.508.3756
jmansour@luc.edu
Sara, Matthew Stockroom Manager FH-120 773.508.3109
msara@luc.edu

Loyola

Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Loyola University Chicago · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660
Phone: 773.508.3100 · Fax: 773.508.3086

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy