Loyola University Chicago

- Navigation -

Loyola University Chicago

Department of Sociology

Faculty

Faculty

The faculty includes 17 active full-time sociologists. Current research project topics include: racial, ethnic and economic diversity in urban communities; flexible employment for professionals; the non-profit sector; violent crime; population changes in non-metropolitan regions; the changing commitment of women to work and family roles; the role of experts in advanced industrial societies; religion and social change; community-centered models of public policy development; women and family violence; the geographical development of evangelicalism; and women and unemployment. In the last five years the department has received over $3 million in external research funding.

It is indicative of the esteem in which the faculty members of the department are held by their peers outside Loyola that a large proportion have held or are holding office in professional associations. The department counts among its numbers past presidents of the Society for Study of Social Problems, the Midwest Sociological Society, the Illinois Sociological Association, Sociologists for Women in Society, the Religious Research Association and the current president of the Society of Scientific Study of Religion. The combined faculty have published more than twenty-five books. They have published articles in The American Journal of Sociology, Social Problems, Social Forces, Contemporary Sociology, Human Organization, Qualitative Sociology, Sociological Quarterly, Sociology of Religion, Symbolic Interaction and in many specialized journals such as Criminology, American Demographics, Rural Sociology, The Journal of Marriage and the Family, Politics and Society, Theory and Society, and Science, Technology & Human Values.

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Michael Agliardo, SJ, Ph. D. Assistant Professor Coffey Hall 430 773-508-3460
magliardo@luc.edu
Jordan Brown, Ph.D. Lecturer Coffey Hall 439 773.508.3667
jbrown11@luc.edu
Kathleen Dunn, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Coffey Hall 435 773-508-3467
kdunn6@luc.edu
David Embrick, Ph.D. Associate Professor Coffey Hall 434 773.508.3424
dembric@luc.edu
Judson Everitt, Ph.D. Lecturer Coffey Hall 427 773.508.3427
jeveritt@luc.edu
Anne Figert, Ph.D. Associate Professor Coffey Hall 421 773-508-3431
afigert@luc.edu
Edward Orozco Flores, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Coffey Hall 432 773.508.3439
eflores2@luc.edu
Ayana Karanja, Ph.D. Associate Professor
akaranj@luc.edu
Marilyn Krogh, Ph.D. Associate Professor
Undergraduate Program Director, Director of the Urban Studies program at Loyola
Coffey Hall 428 773.508.3471
mkrogh@luc.edu
Lauren Langman, Ph.D, Professor Coffey Hall 429 773.508.3463
llangma@luc.edu
Kelly Moore, Ph.D. Associate Professor Coffey Hall 431 773.508.3488
kmoore11@luc.edu
Philip Nyden, Ph.D. Professor
Director of Center for Urban Research and Learning
Cuneo Hall 413 773.508.8532
pnyden@luc.edu
Peter Rosenblatt, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Coffey Hall 438 773-508-3422
prosenblatt@luc.edu
Monte D. Staton, Ph.D. Lecturer Coffey Hall 451 773-508-3349
mstato1@luc.edu
Elfriede Wedam, Ph.D. Lecturer
Research Associate-McNamara Center for the Social Study of Religion
Coffey Hall 436 773.508.3669
Ewedam@luc.edu
Matthew Williams, Ph.D. Lecturer Coffey Hall 437
mwilliams26@luc.edu
Rhys H. Williams, Ph.D. Professor
Department Chair, Director-McNamara Center for the Social Study of Religion
Coffey Hall 423 773.508.3459
rwilliams7@luc.edu
Judith Wittner, Ph.D. Professor Coffey Hall 412 773.508.3473
jwittne@luc.edu
J. Talmadge Wright, Ph.D. Associate Professor
Graduate Program Director
Coffey Hall 433 773.508.3451
twright@luc.edu

Affiliated, Part-Time, Emeritus Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Kathleen Adams, Ph.D. Professor Affiliated Coffey Hall 402 (773) 508-3458
kadams@luc.edu
Deborah Baskin, PhD Professor Affiliated
Chairperson, Department of Criminal Justice, Loyola University Chicago
Lewis Towers 923, WTC 312.915.7568
dbaskin@luc.edu
Richard Block, Ph.D. Professor Affiliated
Paul Breidenbach, Ph.D. Associate Professor Affiliated
Marcel Fredericks, Ph.D. Professor Emeritus
mfreder@luc.edu
Christine George, Ph.D. Associate Research Professor Cuneo Hall, 414 773-508-8533
cgeorg@luc.edu
Kenneth Johnson, Ph.D. Affiliate Research Professor
Fred Kniss, Ph.D. Affiliate Research Professor
Kathleen R. Maas Weigert, Ph.D. Carolyn Farrell, BVM, Professorship in Women and Leadership
Asst.to Provost for Social Justice Initiatives
Piper Hall 210 773 - 508-8463
kmaasweigert@luc.edu
Kathleen McCourt, Ph.D. Professor Emerita
Mary Sparks, Ph.D. Professor Emerita

Loyola

Department of Sociology
Loyola University Chicago
1032 West Sheridan Road
Chicago, Illinois 60660
Tel: (773) 508-3445
Fax: (773) 508-7099

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy