Loyola University Chicago

- Navigation -

Loyola University Chicago

Unified Student Government Association


The Legislative Branch

The Senate of the USGA is comprised of thirty-five senators, with individuals representing each class. The Senate democratically forms the official voice of Loyola's undergraduate student body.

The legislative body is represented by the Speaker of the Senate, who runs and coordinates the senate meetings. Senate is divided into various committees made up of senators from each class, as well as undesignated senators. The committees tackle important issues brought before Senate and advocate for those issues with various administrators, staff, and faculty on campus.



There are six committees in the legislative branch. They are:


Academic Affairs

Residence Life and Dining


Safety and Wellness

Facilities and Transportation


In addition, special committees may be established by the Senate and will dissolve at the end of a USGA term.  Current special committees include:

Community Co-Chairs

Constitutional Review Board

Events Planning

For a list of members that serve on the Legislative Branch, please view our 2014-2015 Fall Member Directory.


Division of Student Development · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773-274-3000

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy