Loyola University Chicago

Faculty Council

Faculty Council


Tavis D. Jules, Chair of Executive Committee

Welcome to the website of Faculty Council, which is Loyola University Chicago’s highest elected faculty body representing more than 2,000 faculty at the Lake Shore Campus, Water Tower Campus, Health Sciences Division, and overseas (Rome) campus.

This thirty-five-member body represents the faculty to the university administration and may address any matter of importance to the university in general and to the faculty in particular. Faculty Council is advisory to the President and the other Senior Academic Officers, and communicates with them directly. It provides input and makes policy recommendations on issues being considered by the university policy committees that comprise Loyola’s shared governance system. It also nominates faculty members for important University committees, such as the Faculty Appeals Committee.

Please do not hesitate to contact your Faculty Council representative, any of the Faculty Council officers, or click here if you have any questions or concerns.

We as faculty pride ourselves on providing Loyola students with a world-class, Jesuit-inspired education that is infused with our own research and service.

Tavis D. Jules, Ed.D.
Associate Professor of Cultural and Educational Policy
Faculty Council Chairperson (2020-21)