Faculty

Because of the interdisciplinary nature of the field, the department's faculty have earned PhDs in various disciplines: history, justice studies, law, law and society, psychology, political science, sociology, social psychology, and social work. Their varied backgrounds add diversity and strength to the department and provide students with different insights and perspectives. Quite naturally, the research interests of the faculty have been shaped by their specific academic training and work experiences.

In addition to their academic training, the criminal justice and criminology faculty has extensive administrative and research experience within the justice system. The faculty are involved currently in a number of research activities supported through federal, state, and local grants. These grants provide research opportunities and financial support to graduate students in the department. In addition, many of the faculty serve in advisory capacities to various criminal justice, social service and community-based organizations, which facilitate students’ access to internship opportunities.

Full-Time Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Garry Bombard, PhD Program Director, Forensic Science Life Science Building 122, LSC 773.508.3676
gbombar@luc.edu
Chris Donner, PhD Assistant Professor Mundelein Center, Room 805A 773.508.8864
cdonner@luc.edu
Jona Goldschmidt, JD, PhD Professor, Undergraduate Program and Internship Director Mundelein Center, Room 807C 773.508.8456
jgoldsc@luc.edu
Robert Lombardo, PhD Associate Professor Mundelein Center, Room 807D 773.508.8375
rlombar@luc.edu
Arthur J. Lurigio, PhD Professor and Associate Dean Sullivan Center, LSC 773.508.3503
alurigi@luc.edu
David E. Olson, PhD Professor, Graduate Program Director Mundelein Center, Room 807A 773.508.8594
dolson1@luc.edu
Loretta Stalans, PhD Professor
Director, Psychology of Crime and Justice Minor
Mundelein Center, Room 818 773.508.8368
lstalan@luc.edu
Don Stemen, PhD Associate Professor, Chairperson Mundelein Center, Room 807B 773.508.8505
dstemen@luc.edu
J. Michael Vecchio, PhD Assistant Professor Mundelein Center, Room 805C 7703.508.8596
jvecchio@luc.edu
Brandi Vigil, M.S. Full-Time Faculty Mundelein Center, Room 805B 773.508.8608
bvigil@luc.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Brittany Groot Part-Time Faculty Mundelein Center, Room 806 773.508.8892
bgroot@luc.edu
Brent In Part-Time Faculty Mundelein Center, Room 806 773.508.8892
bin1@luc.edu
Kevin Kulbacki Part-Time Faculty kkulbacki@luc.edu
Karl Larsen, PhD Part-Time Faculty
Edward Mogul Part-Time Faculty emogul@luc.edu
Gregory Prestipino Part-Time Faculty Mundelein Center, Room 806 773.508.8892
Gpresti@luc.edu
Michael Rohan Part-Time Faculty 77.508.8892
Mrohan1@luc.edu
Bernard Ward Part-Time Faculty 77.508.8892
Bward@luc.edu