The Faculty Appeals Committee has the authority and the responsibility to review certain decisions of the Senior Academic Officers which have been appealed in writing to the President by the faculty member involved and which have not already gone through the Faculty Grievance Procedure. The President shall refer to the Faculty Appeals Committee appeals alleging one or more of the following:

(a) that the faculty member involved has been unjustly dismissed for cause;
(b) that, in matters involving promotion, tenure, non-reappointment, termination or salary, there has been discrimination against the faculty member on account of his or her age, sex, race, religion, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity, non-disqualifying disability, or other characteristic protected by applicable law;
(c) that there has been a significant violation of procedures related to decisions affecting promotion, tenure, non-reappointment, termination or salary; and or
(d) that the faculty member's academic freedom has been violated.

Additional information regarding the role of the Faculty Appeals Committee is available in Chapter 7 of the Faculty Handbook.


Faculty Appeals Committee Membership 2020-2021
Sandra Sullivan-Dunbar, Chair Theology Class of 2019-21
Nina Clark SSOM - Medicine Class of 2020-22
Raymond Dye Jr. Psychology Class of 2020-22
Bamidele Tayo Public Health Science Class of 2020-22
Katherine Tysono School of Social Work Class of 2020-22
Dali Liu, Alternate Chemistry & Biochemistry Class of 2020-22
Anastasios Malliaris, Alternate QSB - Economics Class of 2020-22