Loyola University Chicago

University Core

Core Guide

University Core Curriculum

The University Core curriculum includes 16 courses distributed across 10 Knowledge Areas designed to reinforce learning of important skills, including communication, critical thinking, ethical awareness, information literacy, quantitative and qualitative analysis and research methods, and technological literacy.  These courses have also been designed to promote students' understanding of the values of Diversity, Justice, and, Faith and Spirituality which are central to Loyola's Jesuit education.  

To find courses approved for Core credit in the various Knowledge Areas, click on the field in the box to the left that describes your student status at Loyola.

Engaged Learning Requirement

Engaged Learning is a University requirement designed to support the mission of Loyola University Chicago to "expand knowledge in the service of humanity through learning, justice, and faith".  Students can satisfy this requirement by taking an Engaged Learning course/s that total three credit hours or more.  Courses approved for this requirement can be found by performing a Class Search in LOCUS.  These approved courses may also satisfy a Core Knowledge Area, or a major or minor area, or serve as an elective course.