Loyola University Chicago

Faculty Council

Faculty Council


James J. Devery, Chair of Faculty Council and Executive Council

Welcome to the website of Faculty Council, which is Loyola University Chicago’s highest elected faculty body representing more than 2,000 faculty at the Lake Shore, Water Tower, and Health Sciences Campuses; and overseas at the Rome Campus. As an integral part of the University’s shared governance, the Faculty Council works continuously with, and alongside, the University Senate, Staff Council, Student Boards, and the University.

We as Faculty pride ourselves in providing Loyola students with a world-class, Jesuit-inspired education that is infused with our own research, teaching, and service. This forty-member body represents the Faculty to the university administration and may address any matter of importance to the university in general and to the Faculty in particular. Faculty Council is advisory to the President and the other Senior Academic Officers and communicates with them directly. Council provides input and makes policy recommendations on issues being considered by the university policy committees that comprise Loyola’s shared governance system. It also nominates faculty members for important University committees, such as the Faculty Appeals Committee.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact your Faculty Council representative here.

James J. Devery, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Chair, LUC Faculty Council and Executive Council