Loyola University Chicago

Department of Political Science

The Minor

To graduate with a minor in Political Science, students must complete 18 hours of course work (6 courses) in the department or through transfer or advanced placement credit. All minors are required to take PLSC 100, 101 and 102. The remaining three courses are elective and may be taken in any of the discipline's four subfields: American Politics, Comparative Politics, International Politics and Political Theory. Students must earn a grade of C- or better in a course for it to count toward the minor.

To enroll as a minor, Lake Shore Campus students should first stop by the Dean's Office in the Sullivan Center to pick up a yellow registration card. Fill in your name and social security number and bring this card to the Political Science Department on the third floor of Coffey Hall. The card will be signed by Dr. Peter Schraeder (pschrae@luc.edu), Chair of the Political Science Department. After getting the chair's signature, return the card to the Dean's Office.

Minors are not required to choose a Political Science faculty advisor but are encouraged to meet with faculty if they have questions or need advice. For faculty contact information, click here.