Loyola University Chicago

John Felice Rome Center

Academic Calendar

Please be advised that dates in this calendar are tentative and subject to change, particularly the start / end dates of a semester, until the final schedule is posted on LOCUS by the University Registrar. Students should not book airline tickets until the academic calendar has been officially finalized.

 

Fall Semester
Day(s)
2022 
2023
Official Move-In Day.  All students due on campus. Wed Aug 31 Aug 30
On-campus / on-site orientation activities (mandatory) Wed-Sun Aug 31-Sep 4 Aug 30-Sep 3
Classes begin for Fall semester Mon Sep 5 Sep 4
Late and change of registration Mon-Sun Sep 5-11 Sep 4-10
Weekend orientation activities (mandatory)
Fri-Sun Sep 9-11 Sep 8-10
Deadline to convert a class from Credit to Audit Mon Sep 19 Sep 18
Deadline to elect Pass/No Pass option (one course limit) Mon Sep 19 Sep 18
Fall semester break
Fri-Tues Oct 14-18 Oct 13-22
Friday Class Day (mandatory) Fri Oct 21 TBD
Opening date for registration for Spring semester Mon Nov 7 Nov 6
Deadline to withdraw from class with a grade of "W" on transcript. 
After this date, the penalty grade of "WF" will be assigned.
Mon Nov 14 Nov 13
Friday Class Day (mandatory) Fri Nov 18 TBD
Study Day Fri Dec 2 Dec 8
Final Examinations Mon-Thu Dec 5-8 Dec 11-14
Mandatory departure for all Fall-semester-only students Fri Dec 9 Dec 15

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spring Semester
Day(s)
2022 
2023 
2024
Official Move-In Day.  All new students due on campus. Wed Jan 12 Jan 11 Jan 10
On-campus / on-site orientation activities (mandatory) Wed-Sun Jan 12-16 Jan 11-15 Jan 10-14
Classes begin for Spring semester Mon Jan 17  Jan 16  Jan 15
Late and change of registration. Mon-Sun Jan 17-23 Jan 16-22 Jan 15-21
Weekend orientation activities (mandatory).
Fri-Sun Jan 21-23 Jan 20-22 Jan 19-21
Deadline to convert a course from Credit to Audit. Mon Jan 31 Jan 30 Jan 29 
Deadline to elect Pass/No Pass option (one course limit).  Mon Jan 31 Jan 30 Jan 29
Spring semester break 
Fri-Sun Mar 4-13 Mar 3-12 Mar 1-10
Deadline to withdraw from class with a grade of "W" on transcript.
After this date, the penalty grade of "WF" will be assigned.
Mon Mar 28 Mar 27 Mar 25
NO CLASSES. Easter Recess Thurs-Mon Apr 14-18 Apr 7-10 Mar 29-Apr 1 
Opening date for registration for Fall semester. Mon Apr 4 Apr 17 Apr 15 
Study Day. Fri Apr 29 Apr 21 Apr 19

Final Examinations.

Mon-Thu May 2-5 Apr 24-27 Apr 22-25
Mandatory departure for all students. Fri May 6 Apr 28 Apr 26
       
Summer: 5-Week Session
Day
2022 
2023 
Students due on campus Fri May 20  May 19 
Orientation day trip Sun May 22  May 21 
Classes begin Mon May 23  May 22 
Classes / exams end Thu  June 23  June 22 
Departure Fri  June 24  June 23 

Loyola University of Chicago reserves the right to cancel, modify or otherwise change the academic calendar, scheduling, credit or content of the courses, the books used, the fees charged, and regulations affecting students, as announced on this website.