Loyola University Chicago

Financial Services

Out of State Employees

Loyola University Chicago recognizes the occasional need to hire or reassign an employee who will, due to the nature of a particular position or business needs of the University, need to reside and perform their University work outside of the state of Illinois.

However, because having employees who work outside of the State of Illinois subjects the University to numerous other laws and imposes additional insurance and payroll requirements and costs (e.g., workers compensation liability insurance, unemployment requirements, payroll tax withholding/reporting, administrative costs, and other reporting requirements to other states), the University asks all out of state employees to certify that they are living and working in a state other than Illinois.

They can do this by completing the Personal Fact Sheet, which can be found on the Human Resources website. The completed form should be submitted to Human Resources via e-mail at
Additionally, we request that the employee complete and submit the appropriate state withholding tax form.  The United States Department of Labor lists all US state tax forms on its site. 

Attention Hiring Managers: Loyola University Chicago is currently registered with the following states. If you are hiring a staff or faculty member to work in a state other than the ones listed below, please contact Human Resources and Payroll so they can begin the registration process.

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Colorado - Denver
  • Connecticut
  • District Columbia (D.C.)
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Missouri - St Louis
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Ohio - Cleveland Heights, Upper Arlington
  • Ohio - Dayton City
  • Ohio - Montgomery City
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Pennsylvania – Ashton Township
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin
The following 9 U.S. States do not levy a state income tax, however, Human Resources must be notified if an employee is living and working in one of these states in order to stop withholding Illinois State Tax:

  • Alaska
  • Florida 
  • Nevada 
  • New Hampshire 
  • South Dakota 
  • Texas 
  • Tennessee 
  • Washington 
  • Wyoming
Questions may be directed to the following departments.

Payroll Services - kronoshelpdesk@luc.edu