Loyola University Chicago

Modern Languages and Literatures

Faculty & Staff Directory

Administration  |  Arabic  |  Chinese  |  French  |  German   Hebrew   Hindi/Urdu  |  Italian  |  Japanese  |  Polish |  Russian  |  Spanish

Administration

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Dr. David Posner Department Chair Associate Professor of French and Comparative Literature CC217D 773.508.2866
dposner@luc.edu
Dr. D. Scott Hendrickson, S.J. Associate Provost for Global and Community Engagement Associate Professor of Spanish Sullivan Center 219 773.508-2551
dhendrickson@luc.edu
Dr. Ana Rodriguez Navas Hispanic Studies Graduate Program Director
Associate Professor of Latin American Literature and Culture
CC468 773.508.2171
arodrigueznavas@luc.edu
Paulina Dzieza LLRC Manager CC208B 773.508.2846
pdzieza@luc.edu
Aurora Castañeda Administrative Assistant CC 217E 773.508.2859
acastaneda3@luc.edu

American Sign Language Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Malinda Tran Part-Time Instructor mtran14@luc.edu

Arabic Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Dr. Sawsan Abbadi Director Arabic Minor
Senior Lecturer
CC215 sabbadi@luc.edu
Samantha Pellegrino Part-Time Instructor Crown Center 213 spellegrino@luc.edu
Omer Mozaffar Lecturer, Muslim Chaplain Damen 217 omozaffar@luc.edu

Chinese Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Hong Chen Director of Chinese Language and Literature Program
Senior Lecturer
CC107 773.508.7362
hchen4@luc.edu
Ryan Nowack Part-Time Instructor CC447 rnowack@luc.edu
Alexa Welch Part-Time Instructor CC213 awelch1@luc.edu
Dr. John Trowbridge Part-Time Instructor CC206 jtrowbridge@luc.edu
Dr. Jie Wang Part-Time Instructor Lewis Towers 915C jwang37@luc.edu

French Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Dr. Mary Angelo Part-Time Instructor CC213 mangelo@luc.edu
Dr. Svetlana Dembovskaya Part-Time Instructor CC213 sdembov@luc.edu
Dr. Julia Elsky Associate Professor CC214 773.508.2703
jelsky@luc.edu
Dr. Andrew McKenna Professor Emeritus CC204 amckenn@luc.edu
Linda McGowan Part-Time Instructor CC213 lmcgowan3@luc.edu
Teresa Moore Part-Time Instructor CC213 tmoore7@luc.edu
Dr. David Posner Department Chair
Associate Professor
CC217D 773.508.2866
dposner@luc.edu
Dr. Eliana Vagalau Associate Professor
Undergraduate Program Director
CC471 773.508.7604
evagalau@luc.edu

German Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Dr. Reinhard Andress Director of German Studies Minor
Professor
CC212 773.508.7365
randress@luc.edu
Mariel Robert Part-Time Instructor CC213 mrobert@luc.edu
Lorena Batiston Part-Time Instructor CC212 lbatiston@luc.edu
Veronika Roth Part-Time Instructor CC213 vroth@luc.edu

Hebrew Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Dana Rubin-Abahel Part-Time Instructor drubinabahel@luc.edu

Italian Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Dr. Cristina Lombardi-Diop Undergraduate Program Director
Assistant Professor of Italian
CC202 773.508.2379
clombardidiop@luc.edu
Dr. Wiley Feinstein Professor Emeritus 773.508.2868
wfeinst@luc.edu
Anna Clara Ionta Senior Lecturer CC203 773.508.2858
aionta@luc.edu
Dennis Martinez Lecturer CC108A dmartinez2@luc.edu
Dr. Carla Simonini Director of Italian American Studies
Associate Professor
CC217G 773.508.2891
csimonini@luc.edu
Claudia Defraia Part-Time Instructor Crown Center 206 cdefraia@luc.edu
Antonio Romano Part-Time Instructor CC206 aromano1@luc.edu
Elena Spilioti Part-Time Instructor CC213 773-508-2850
espilio@luc.edu

Japanese Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Dr. Janet Fair Director of Japanese Studies Crown Center 206D 773-508-8553
jfair@luc.edu
Linda Chessick Part-Time Instructor CC206 lchessick@luc.edu
Rika Kinoshita Part-time instructor CC206 rkinoshita@luc.edu
Kanji Kitamura Part-time Instructor CC206 kkitamura@luc.edu

Polish Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Bozena Nowicka McLees Director of Polish Studies CC217F 773.508.2864
bmclees@luc.edu
Dr. John Merchant Advanced Lecturer CC109 773.508.2991
jmerchant@luc.edu
Zbigniew Banas Part-Time Instructor CC206 zbanas@luc.edu
Dr. Jack Hutchens Part-Time Instructor CC206 773.508.7368
jhutchens@luc.edu
Aleksandra Majkowska Smith Part-Time Instructor CC206 773.508.7363
amajkowskasmith@luc.edu
Dr. Agnieszka Oskiera Part-Time Instructor CC 206C 773.508.7368
aoskiera@luc.edu

Russian Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Nadezhda Vinogradova Part-Time Instructor CC206 nvinogradova@luc.edu

Spanish Faculty

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
David Beltran Lecturer CC206A 773.508.2861
dbeltran@luc.edu
Dr. Clara Burgo Undergraduate Program Director
Associate Professor
CC217B 773.508.8296
cburgo@luc.edu
Cynthia Carrasco Part-Time Instructor CC213 ccarras@luc.edu
Brenda Carrillo Part-Time Instructor CC470 bcarril@luc.edu
Dr. Susana Cavallo Professor
Professor
CC217C 773.508.2870
scavall@luc.edu
Adriana Diaz Lewis Lecturer CC213 adiazlewis@luc.edu
Dr. Héctor García Chávez Director of Graduate Program in Women’s Studies and Gender Studies
Senior Lecturer of Spanish
CC206B 773.508.2863
hgarci1@luc.edu
Dr. Olympia Gonzalez Associate Professor Emerita ogonzal@luc.edu
Dr. D. Scott Hendrickson, S.J. Associate Provost for Global and Community Engagement
Associate Professor of Spanish
CC 207 773-508-7364
dhendrickson@luc.edu
Dr. Denis Heyck Professor Emerita CC204 773.508.2867
dheyck@luc.edu
Dr. Alrick Knight Associate Professor CC217A 773.508.2855
aknigh4@luc.edu
Elizabeth Maldonado Part-Time Instructor CC213 emaldonado@luc.edu
Miguel Mendez Part-Time Instructor CC213 mmendez4@luc.edu
Sarah Obrist Instructor of Spanish CC213 sobrist@luc.edu
Neringa Pukelis Part-Time Instructor CC213 npukelis@luc.edu
Dr. Ana Rodriguez Navas Hispanic Studies Graduate Program Director
Associate Professor of Latin American Literature and Culture
CC468 773.508.2171
arodrigueznavas@luc.edu
Dr. Natalia Valencia Advanced Lecturer CC467 773.508.3947
nvalencia@luc.edu
Dr. Gabriela Buitrón Vera Lecturer Crown 106 gbuitronvera@luc.edu
Jose Tuesta Teaching Assistant CC 213 jtuesta@luc.edu
Jacob Stuckert Teaching Assistant CC213 jstuckert@luc.edu
Sarah Cummins Teaching Assistant CC 213 scummins1@luc.edu
Lucia Pereyra Teaching Assistant CC213 lpereyra@luc.edu