Loyola University Chicago

Modern Languages and Literatures

Foreign Language Placement Coordinators

Coordinators are teaching faculty in the Modern Languages & Literatures Department. They will help determine which course is the best option given each student's previous experience with the language. Coordinators may base their placement recommendation on an interview (by phone or in person), quiz, and/or short writing sample.

Language Placement Coordinators During the Academic Year

LanguageCoordinatorE-mailPhone
Arabic Dr. Sawsan Abbadi sabbadi@luc.edu 773.508.2850
Chinese Prof. Hong Chen hchen4@luc.edu 773.508.7326
French Dr. Julia Elsky jelsky@luc.edu 773.508.2703
German Dr. Reinhard Andress randress@luc.edu 773.508.7365
Hebrew Dr. Wiley Feinstein wfeinst@luc.edu 773.508.2868
Hindi Dr. Wiley Feinstein wfeinst@luc.edu
773.508.2868
Italian Dr. Wiley Feinstein wfeinst@luc.edu 773.508.2868
Japanese Dr. Janet Fair jfair@luc.edu Send E-mail
Polish Prof. Bozena McLees bmclees@luc.edu Send E-mail
Russian Prof. Polina Maksimovich pmaksimovich@luc.edu Send E-mail
Spanish 101–102 Prof. Mary Carolan mcarolan@luc.edu 773.508.8552
Spanish 103–104 Prof. David Beltran dbeltran@luc.edu 773.508.2861
Spanish 250–251 Dr. Natalia Valencia nvalencia@luc.edu 773.508.3947
Spanish 270+ Dr. Clara Burgo cburgo@luc.edu 773.508.8296

Summer Freshmen Orientations

During summer freshmen orientation sessions, foreign language placement coordinators vary.