Loyola University Chicago

Modern Languages and Literatures

Foreign Language Placement Coordinators

Coordinators are teaching faculty in the Modern Languages & Literatures Department. They will help determine which course is the best option given each student's previous experience with the language. Coordinators may base their placement recommendation on an interview (by phone or in person), quiz, and/or short writing sample.

Language Placement Coordinators During the Academic Year

LanguageCoordinatorE-mailPhone
Arabic Dr. Sawsan Abbadi sabbadi@luc.edu 773.508.2850
Chinese Prof. Hong Chen hchen4@luc.edu 773.508.7326
French Dr. Eliana Vagalau evagalau@luc.edu 773.508.7604
German Dr. Reinhard Andress randress@luc.edu 773.508.7365
Hebrew Anna Raiber araiber@luc.edu Send E-mail
       
Italian Dr. Cristina Lombardi-Diop clombardidiop@luc.edu 773.508.2379
Japanese Dr. Janet Fair jfair@luc.edu Send E-mail
Polish Prof. Bozena McLees bmclees@luc.edu Send E-mail
Russian Maximilian Gordon mgordon17@luc.edu Send E-mail
Spanish 101–102 Dr. Clara Burgo cburgo@luc.edu  773-508-8296
Spanish 103–104 Ms. Adriana Diaz-Lewis adiazlewis@luc.edu Send E-mail
Spanish 250–251 Dr. Natalia Valencia nvalencia@luc.edu 773.508.3947
Spanish 270+ Dr. Clara Burgo cburgo@luc.edu 773.508.8296

Summer Freshmen Orientations

During summer freshmen orientation sessions, foreign language placement coordinators vary.