Loyola University Chicago

Department of Sociology

Current Graduate Students

See here for PhD Students

See here for MA Students

See here for BA/MA Students

PhD Candidates 


Ashely Baber

Advisor: Rhys Williams, PhD

Research Interests: Urban Sociology, Political Sociology, Social Stratification & Inequality, Labor Markets, The "Gig" Economy, and Political-Economy of Urban Education

Dissertation Title: The Growth of Flexible Labor, The Labor of Flexible Growth: Labor Market Intermediaries and the City

Email: ababer@luc.edu

William Burr

Advisor: Rhys Williams, PhD

Research Interests: Organizational Behavior, Organizations & Institutions, Institutional Logics, and Corporate Culture in the United States since 1980

Dissertation Title: Laissez Fairy Tales: A Ten-Year Retrospective of Corporate Cultures and Free Market Faith during the Lehman Brothers Bankruptcy

Email: wburr@luc.edu

Soulit Chacko

Advisor: Rhys Williams, PhD

Research Interests: Gender & Families, International Migration, Citizenship, Race & Ethnicity, and Transnational Feminism 

Dissertation Title: Immigrant Women in the Ethnic Beauty Salon Business

Email: schacko1@luc.edu

Nathalia Hernandez Vidal

Advisor: Kelly Moore, PhD

Research Intersts: Sociology of Science & Technology, Social Movements, Rural Sociology, and Political Economy

Dissertation Title: Community Knowledge and Political Mobilization: A study of La Red de Semillas Libres de Colombia

Email: nhernandezvidal@luc.edu

Joseph Renow

Advisor: Kelly Moore, PhD

Dissertation Title: Grounding Science: A Study of Place-Making at an Archeological Research Site

Email: jrenow@luc.edu

Steven Tuttle

Advisor: Peter Rosenblatt, PhD

Research Interests: Urban Sociology, Race & Ethnicity, Gentrification, Race & Space, Segregation & Diversity, Culture, and Mass Media

Dissertation Title: Storefront: Local Businesses Acting Locally in Two Chicago Neighborhoods

Email: stuttle2@luc.edu

PhD Students


Joseph Butler

Advisor: Peter Rosenblatt, PhD

Email: jbutler2@luc.edu

Michelle Dodson

Advisor: Rhys Williams, PhD

Email: mdodson@luc.edu

William Drust

Advisor: Anne Figert, PhD

Email: wdrust@luc.edu

Bushra Ghaniwala

Advisor: Marilyn Krogh, PhD

Email: bghaniwala@luc.edu

Christopher Hansen

Advisor: Marlyin Krogh, PhD

Email: chansen6@luc.edu

Stephanie Jean-Baptiste

Advisor: Rhys Williams, PhD

Email: sjeanbaptiste@luc.edu

Moriah Johnson

Advisor: Marlyin Krogh, PhD

Research Interests: Race & Ethnicity, Gender & Sexuality, Intersectionality, Social Policy and Visual Sociology 

Email: mjohnson58@luc.edu

Melissa Kinsella

Advisor: Anne Figert, PhD

Research Interests: Gender & Sexuality, Sociology of Violence, and Social Policy

Email: mkinsella1@luc.edu

Dana LaVergne

Advisor: Marlyin Krogh, PhD

Email: dlavergne@luc.edu

Skky Martin

Advisor: Anne Figert, PhD

Research Interests: Medical Sociology, Health Disparities, Quantitative Methods, Inequalities, Race & Ethnicity, and Gender & Sexuality

Email: smartin16@luc.edu

Travis Moody

Advisor: Marilyn Krogh, PhD

Research Interests: Race & Ethnicity

Email: tmoody1@luc.edu

Keyla Navarrete

Advisor: Marilyn Krogh, PhD

Research Interests: Higher Education, Stratification, Race & Ethnicity, Public Opinion, Public Policy, Poverty, Law & Society, Gender, and Sex Ratios

Email: knavarrete1@luc.edu

Richard Rodriguez

Advisor: Marilyn Krogh, PhD

Email: rrodriguez7@luc.edu

John Henry Sienkiewicz III

Advisor: Marilyn Krogh, PhD

Research Interests: Labor, Urban Sociology, and Public Sociology

Email: jsienkiewicz1@luc.edu

Julie Szamocki

Advisor: Marlyin Krogh, PhD

Email:  jszamocki@luc.edu

Samir Talati

Advisor: Marlyin Krogh, PhD

Email: ftalati@luc.edu

Sarah Thorngate

Advisor: Marlyin Krogh, PhD

Email: sthorngate@luc.edu

Leslie Erin Watland

Advisor: Marilyn Krogh, PhD

Research Interests: Gender & Sexuality, LGBTQ, Sociology of Higher Education, Sociology of Violence, and Policy Studies

Email: lwatland@luc.edu

Quintin Williams

Advisor: Peter Rosenblatt, PhD

Research Interests: Race & Ethnicity, Religion in Politics, Political Culture, and Medical Sociology

Email: qwilliams@luc.edu

Ryan SC Wong

Advisor: Rhys Williams, PhD

Research Interests: Sociology of Religion, Social Theory, and Deviant & Delinquent

Email: rwong1@luc.edu

Fatema Zohara

Advisor: Rhys Williams, PhD

Research Interests: International Migration, Immigration & Policy, Sociology of Religion, South Asian Culture & Identity, Colonialism, Race & Ethnicity, and Qualitative Methods

 Email: fzohara@luc.edu

 

MA Students 


Sylvia Acosta Chavez

Research Interests: Human Rights, Immigration, Culture, Stratification & Inequality, and Mixed Methods Research

Email: sacostachavez@luc.edu

Kathryn Battafarano

Email: kbattafarano@luc.edu

Thomas Covault

Email: tcovault@luc.edu

Marsha DeVolt

Email: mdevolt@luc.edu

Jinjin Du

Research Interests: Urban Sociology, Public & Applied Sociology, Housing, Community Development, and Neighborhood Change

Email: jdu5@luc.edu

Lynsey Ellingwood

Email: lellingwood@luc.edu

Jaspreet Kaur

Email: jkaur@luc.edu

Maria Lis

Email: mlis@luc.edu

Elizabeth Long

Email: elong2@luc.edu

Okechukwu Njoku

Email:  onjoku@luc.edu

Sophia Noto

Email: snoto@luc.edu

Jessica Ordinario

Email: ordinario@luc.edu

Matthew Pink

Research Interests: Social Interactions between Differing Religious Organizations; Specifically, between Religious Institutions and "Non-Believers"

Email: mpink@luc.edu

Vanessa Rangel

Research Interests: Latinx Studies, Gender & Sexuality, and how public policy can alleviate social and economic inequality

Email: vrangel@luc.edu

Monica A. Reyna

Research Interests: Sociology of Knowledge, Cultural Sociology, Political Sociology, and Social Science Research Methods

Email: mreyna1@luc.edu

Brody Tate

Email: btate@luc.edu

Juanita Vivas

Email: jvivas1@luc.edu

 

BA/MA Students 


Dang Nguyen Kevin Dang

Research Interests: East-Asian Studies, Sociology of Smells, Religion, Masculinity

Email: kdang1@luc.edu