Loyola University Chicago

Department of Sociology

Sociology Faculty

Helena Dagadu Name: Helena Dagadu, PhD
Title: Assistant Professor
Specialty Area: Health disparities, race and ethnicity, social psychology, and migration.
Office: Coffey 432
Phone: 773.508.3439
Email: hdagadu@luc.edu
Name: Judson G. Everitt, PhD
Title: Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Program Director
Specialty Area: Sociology of Education; Social Psychology; Inhabited Institutionalism; Cultural Sociology; Youth, Aging, and the Life Course; Organizations, Occupations, and Work; Gender, Race, and Class; Ethnography; Teaching and Learning.
Office: Coffey 427
Phone: 773.508.3427
Email: jeveritt@luc.edu
Name: Anne Figert, PhD
Title: Professor, Department Chair
Specialty Area:
Health, Medicine, Sociology of Science, Gender
Office: Coffey 423
Phone: 773.508.3431
Email: afigert@luc.edu
Name: Dana Garbarski, PhD
Title: Assistant Professor
Specialty Area: Social determinants of health and society; health across the life course; medical sociology; social stratification & inequality; social problems; quantitative methods; research methods; survey methodology; demography.
Office: Coffey 440
Phone: 773.508.3786
Email: dgarbarski@luc.edu
  Name: Ayana Karanja, PhD
Title:
Associate Professor
Specialty Area: Race/Performance/Ethnicity and Public Representation.
Office: Coffey 439
Phone: 773.508.3742
Email: akaranj@luc.edu
Name: Marilyn Krogh, PhD
Title: Associate Professor, Graduate Program Director
Specialty Area: Urban Sociology, Poverty, Quantitative Methods.
Office: Coffey 428
Phone: 773.508.3471
Email: mkrogh@luc.edu
‌‌ Name: Lauren Langman, PhD
Title: Professor
Specialty Area: Social Psychology, Critical Theory.
Office: Coffey 429
Phone: 773.508.3463
Email: llangma@luc.edu
  Name: Kathleen Maas Weigert, PhD   
Title:
Professor
Specialty Area:
Education for justice and peace; nonviolence; homelessness; the Catholic social tradition
Office: Coffey 412
Phone:
773.508.8463
Email:
kmaasweigert@luc.edu
Name: Elise Martel Cohen, PhD     
Title: Lecturer
Specialty Area: Work and Occupations; Economic Sociology; Religion; Identity; Race, Ethnicity and Gender; Minorities in Turkey.
Office: Coffey 451
Phone: 773.508.3349
Email: emartel@luc.edu
 ‌‌
Title:Associate Professor
Specialty Area: Sociology of science and knowledge; political protest
Office:  Coffey 441
Phone: 773.508.3488
Email: kmoore11@luc.edu
Name: Cristian Paredes, PhD
Title:
Assistant Professor
Specialty Area:
Race and Ethnicity, Immigration, Social Inequality, Latin America, Culture
Office: Coffey 430
Phone:
773.508.3460
Email:
cparedes@luc.edu
  Rosenblatt-2 Name: Peter Rosenblatt, PhD
Title: Assistant Professor, Director of the Urban Studies program at Loyola
Specialty Area: Urban Sociology, Sociology of Education, Research Methods.
Office: Coffey 438
Phone: 773.508.3422
Email: prosenblatt@luc.edu
Elfreide 3 Name: Elfriede Wedam, PhD
Title:  Advanced Lecturer, Research Associate-McNamara Center for the Social Study of Religion
Specialty Area: Urban and Community, Religion, Moral Culture, Race and Ethnicity, German Sociology.
Office: Coffey 436
Phone: 773.508.3669
Email: ewedam@luc.edu
 ‌ M. Williams Name: Matthew Williams, PhD
Title: Lecturer
Specialty Area: Collective Behavior/Social Movements, Labor and Labor Movements, Political Economy and Political Sociology, Social Inequality, Sociology of Development, Sociology of Globalization/Transnationalism.
Office: Coffey 437
Phone: 773.508.3298
Email: mwilliams26@luc.edu
  Rhys-2-Nov 2014 Name: Rhys H. Williams, PhD
Title: Professor, Director-McNamara Center for the Social Study of Religion
Specialty Area: Sociology of Religion, Social Movements, Culture.
Office: Coffey 421
Phone: 773.508.3459
Email: rwilliams7@luc.edu
Name: J. Talmadge Wright, PhD
Title: Associate Professor
Specialty Area: Homelessness, Social Inequality, Critical Social, Cultural Theory, Social-Physical Space, Gender, Mass Media and Popular Culture.
Office: Coffey 433
Phone: 773.508.3451
Email: twright@luc.edu