Loyola University Chicago

Department of Theology

  • Alfons Auer Award Given to Mary McAleese: Laudatio by Dr. Hille Haker

    The former Irish President Professor Mary McAleese has been awarded the Alfons Auer Award 2019. The prestigious Award of the University of Tübingen is named after the late Rev Professor Alfons Auer, one of the most important moral theologians at and after the Vatican II Council (1962-1965). The celebration of the Award will take place at the University of Tübingen on October 30, 2019. Hille Haker will deliver the commendation. Auer was among those who strongly opposed Pope Paul VI’s Encyclical Humanae Vitae, developed an interdisciplinary approach to ethics that was rejected by John Paul II and Pope Benedict XVI, but that explicitly informs the ethical analyses in Pope Francis’ Encyclical Laudato Si. Auer’s “Autonome Moral im Christlichen Kontext” influenced multiple European theological ethicists over the last decades. In 1998, J. Keenan and Thomas Kopfensteiner concluded in a review article of European scholarship in Theological Ethics, referencing the so-called Auer School: “the moral theology coming out of Western Europe is basically continuing on the original agenda established by those who promoted an autonomous ethics in the context of faith”.