Loyola University Chicago

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Loyola programs are unique because of the close contact between students and faculty, due to smaller class sizes in advanced classes. Chemistry faculty members spend significant time assisting students both in and out of the classroom.

The diverse research interests of the faculty open up a wide range of research experiences to students. Ongoing work is well balanced between Analytical, Biochemistry, Inorganic, Organic, and Physical Chemistry. In addition there are adjunct faculty in the Biology and Physics Departments. Much of the current research transcends traditional boundaries to include fields such as bioorganic, bioinorganic, biophysical, and environmental chemistry.

The department has a full secretarial and stockroom staff, undergraduate lab coordinators and instrument technicians.

 

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Ballicora, Miguel Professor
Department Chair
FH-125 773.508.7045
mballic@luc.edu
Basner, Andrew Instructor 428 83135
abasner@luc.edu
Becker, Daniel Professor FH-217A 773.508.3089
dbecke3@luc.edu
Binaku, Katrina Lecturer FH-104 773.508.8715
kbinaku@luc.edu
Brazdil, Linda Senior Lecturer CS-420 773.508.3103
lbrazdil@luc.edu
Chiarelli, M. Paul Professor FH-102 773.508.3106
mchiare@luc.edu
Cho, Hee Yeon Assistant Professor FH-209 773.508.3255
hcho6@luc.edu
Ciszek, Jacob Associate Professor
Graduate Program Director
FH-122 773.508.3107
jciszek@luc.edu
Daubenmire, Patrick Associate Professor
Assistant Chair
FH-415 773.508.8248
pdauben@luc.edu
Devery, James Assistant Professor FH-215 773.508.3571
jdevery@luc.edu
Eisenberg, Jessica Instructor FH-104 773.508.8714
jeisenberg2@luc.edu
Esipova, Tatiana Assistant Professor FH-203 773.508.3357
tesipova@luc.edu
Fitch, Alanah Professor FH-418 773.508.3119
afitch@luc.edu
Florian, Jan Associate Professor FH-314B 773.508.3785
jfloria@luc.edu
Freitas, Duarte Professor FH-022 773.508.3091
dfreita@luc.edu
Graham, Daniel Professor FH-401 773.508.3169
dgraha1@luc.edu
Greene-Johnson, Willetta Senior Lecturer CS-307 773.508.3537
wgreene@luc.edu
Helquist, Sandra Senior Lecturer FH-200B 773.508.3139
shelquist@luc.edu
Killelea, Dan Associate Professor
Undergraduate Program Director
FH-103 773.508.3136
dkillelea@luc.edu
Klinger, David Instructor CS - 408 773-508-3432
dklinger@luc.edu
Lee, Wei-Tsung Assistant Professor FH-402A 773.508.3205
wlee5@luc.edu
Liu, Dali Associate Professor FH-422 773.508.3093
dliu@luc.edu
May, Donald Senior Lecturer FH-403 773.508.3191
dmay4@luc.edu
Moran, Graham Professor
Carl Moore Endowed Research Chair
FH-419 773.508.3756
gmoran3@luc.edu
Naleway, Conrad Instructor FH-200C 773.508.3115
cnalewa@luc.edu
Olsen, Ken Professor FH-409 773.508.3121
kolsen@luc.edu
Osner, Zachary Lecturer FH-200A 773.508.3138
zosner@luc.edu
Pine, Polina Advanced Lecturer FH - 403 773.508.3134
ppine@luc.edu
Pecak, Agnes Advanced Lecturer FH-428 773.508.2883
aorlof@luc.edu
Schmeling, Martina Associate Professor FH-408 773.508.3124
mschmel@luc.edu
Szpunar, Carole Senior Lecturer FH-200B 773.508.3128
cszpuna@luc.edu
Thomas, Timothy Senior Lecturer LSB-124 773.508.8115
tthoma1@luc.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Babler, James Emeritus Professor LSB-124 773.508.3764
jbabler@luc.edu
Crumrine, David Emeritus Professor FH-200A 773.508.3114
dcrumri@luc.edu
Herlinger, Albert Emeritus Professor FH-303 773.508.3127
aherlin@luc.edu
Jaselskis, Bruno Emeritus Professor FH-304 773.508.3117
bjasels@luc.edu
Pavkovic, Stephen Emeritus Professor 773.508.3100
spavko1@luc.edu

Staff

Name Title Office # Phone/E-mail
Grimm, Carol Senior Secretary FH-125 773.508.3111
cgrimm@luc.edu
Hall, Denise Office Coordinator FH-125 773.508.3090
dhall1@luc.edu
Matt Sara Stockroom Manager FH-120 773.508.3109
msara@luc.edu
Novak, Mary Graduate Program Coordinator FH-125 773.508.3104
mnovak10@luc.edu
Peidong Zhao Instrumentation Specialist LSB - 124 773.508.3178
pzhao1@luc.edu