Loyola University Chicago

Department of English

Faculty Awards

Scholarly Awards and Prizes

Edwin T. and Vivijeanne F. Sujack Master Teacher Award, Loyola University Chicago 

MLA Prize for a Scholarly Edition

Keats-Shelley Association's Distinguished Scholar Award

  • Steven Jones, 2014

Executive Director's Award, Society for Textual Scholarship

MLA Prize for Independent Scholars

Newbridge Silver Award for Lifetime Achievement

The Shakespeare Association of America’s J. Leeds Barroll Dissertation Prize

NWSA Gloria E. Anzadlúa Book Prize

  • Suzanne Bost, 2010: Encarnación: Illness and Body Politics in Chicana Feminist Literature

Boydston Essay Prize, Association for Documentary Editing

Special Award from the Society for the Study of Early Modern Women

  • Suzanne Gossett, 2000: Urania, Book Two

Fredson Bowers Prize, Society for Textual Scholarship

Grants and Fellowships

James Baldwin / Hearst Foundation Fellowship

National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowships

Digitizing Hidden Special Collections and Archives, Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR)

  • Ian Cornelius, 2020-23: Peripheral Manuscripts: Digitizing Medieval Manuscript Collections in the Midwest

Career Enhancement Fellowship for Junior Faculty, Woodrow Wilson and Andrew W. Mellon Foundations

NEH Digital Humanities Startup Grant

American Council of Learned Societies Fellowship

  • David Chinitz, 2012. The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot, vol. 6: 1940–1946

American Philosophical Society Research Grant

  • Marta Werner, 2002. "The Common Notebooks of Nathaniel and Sophia Hawthorne"

Creative Writing Awards

MacDowell Artist Colony Fellowship

Illinois Arts Council Artist Fellowship Award

Chicago Writers Association Book of the Year Award

Barry Spacks Poetry Prize

Glasgow/Shenandoah Prize for Emerging Writers

Katherine Bakeless Award for a First Book of Poetry

Best New American Voices Poetry Selectee

Teaching Awards

Dean Brackley, SJ Faculty Fellowship for Vocational Discernment from the Center for Engaged Learning, Teaching, and Scholarship

Edwin T. and Vivijeanne F. Sujack Master Teacher Award, Loyola University Chicago

Peter Hans Kolvenbach Award for Engaged Teaching, Loyola University Chicago

Edwin T. and Vivijeanne F. Sujack Award for Teaching Excellence, Loyola University Chicago

Medieval Academy of America's Teaching Excellence Award

  • Allen Frantzen, 2013

Provost’s Award for Excellence in Teaching Freshmen, Loyola University Chicago

Teacher of the Year, Loyola Honors' Students Association

Faculty Awards

Faculty Member of the Year, Loyola University Chicago

Graduate Faculty Member of the Year, Loyola University Chicago

Faculty Center for Ignatian Pedagogy Awards

Rising Star Award for Excellence in Teaching

Faculty Scholar

Assignment Design Faculty Scholar