Loyola University Chicago

Department of Physics

Fuller Fund

Information on the Fuller Fund

Attached are two lists regarding the eligible countries for the Fuller fund.

The first is a general list of areas sufficient to identify eligible candidates.
The second is a more specific list of countries, divided by geographical
sections and alphabetized within each section. This list has been extracted from
very recent (1995) versions of the world atlas. Frequent updates may be
necessary, but the listed countries keep in mind the original intent of the
fund. If there are any problems with the categories or specific countries,
send me an e-mail message at gpr@hep.anl.gov and the committee can discuss
potential changes.

For the record, the committee voted at the Reno meeting to pre-approve the
list of specific countries that the subcommittee (Menard and Ramsey)
constructed, provided the general criteria agreed upon was kept in tact.
From: Gordon Ramsey, CIE Chair (1996), To: AAPT Committee on International Education
Subject: "Fuller Fund Eligible Countries" List
General eligibility, by area:

Africa: All countries in Africa and associated islands.
Asia: All (non-United Arab Emarate-UAE) countries
Atlantic/Mediterranean: All islands not directly connected with
European Commonwealth countries
Central, South America and Caribbean: All Central and South American
countries and all Caribbean islands, except US or European possessions.
Eastern Europe: All countries not in the EEC.
Former Soviet Union: All fifteen former Soviet states.
Middle East: All non-UAE countries.
Pacific Islands: All except US, Australian, New Zealand, Japanese or
European possessions.
Specific countries, by category:

Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central
African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Djbouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea,
Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast,
Kenya, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Moroco,
Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, San Tome and Principe, Senegal,
Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa (and associated territories), Sudan,
Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zaire, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, India, Korea (North and South),
Laos, Maldives, Mauritus, Mongolia, Nepal, People's Republic of China
(including Tibet), Seychelles, Singapore, Sri Lanka,Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam.

Atlantic Islands and Mediterranean:
Azores, Cape Verde, Cyprus, Iceland, Malta.

Central, South America and Caribbean:
Argentina, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil,
Chile, Columbia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador,
El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Hounduras, Jamaica, Mexico,
Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Christopher-Nevis, St. Vincent and the
Grenadines, Santa Lucia, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela.

Eastern Europe:
Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary,
Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Rumania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia.

Former Soviet Union:
Armenia, Azerbidzhan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Khazakhistan, Kyrgistan,
Latvia, Lithuania, Moldavia, Russia, Tadzhikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine,

Middle East:
Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Pakistan, Syria, Turkey.

Pacific Islands:
Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Indonesia, Java, Kiribati,
Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Palau, Papua-New Guinea,
Philippines, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.