Loyola University Chicago

Department of Physics

Department Awards

Ronald Regis Dougherty Memorial Award

The Ronald Regis Dougherty Memorial Award was established in 1979 in memory of Ron Dougherty, Class of ’79. This is not an annual award and is only awarded when there is a truly outstanding physics student.

2022 Recipient: Kiet Anh Nguyen (For research work on Sterile Neutrino in Non-standard Cosmology)


Horan Physics Award

The Horan Physics Award was established in 1953 by John R. Horan. This annual award is given to an outstanding graduating senior physics major in recognition of an exceptional comprehensive performance as a Physics major.

2022 Recipients: Grace Ann Bratrud and Natalie West (For overall academic excellence, and outstanding service to the department and the Physics Students’ organization)


Father Gerst Memorial Award

The Father Gerst Memorial Award was established in 1965 in memory of Father Francis J. Gerst, S.J., S.J., former Chair of Math and Dean of the Graduate School. He was on the Mathematics faculty from 1931 to 1962. This award is presented to students from each of the four classes for academic excellence in the study of physics.

2022 Recipients: Davide Mazzucco and Emma Schatz (freshman level); Savannah Lehman, Alex Lewis, Themistoklis Tzellos, and Ben Ward (sophomore level); Zachary Long and  Thomas Tarabay (junior level);  Michael Harris, Melis Jensen, and Harrison Snyder (senior level)


Service Award

The Service Award is recognition of a graduating student(s) who has demonstrated an exceptional level of commitment and service to the Physics Department.

2022 Recipients: Kaleigh O'Brien


Sigma Pi Sigma (Physics Honor Society)

2022 Inductees: Sebastian Acevedo, Dawid Bachnacki, Anthony Kearns, Sarah Murczek, Andrew Rogers, Ciara Wingfield, Zachary Long, Thomas Tarabay, Themistoklis Tzellos, Ben Ward, Davide Mazzucco, Emma Schatz



Past Recipients of Department Awards