Loyola University Chicago

Department of Fine and Performing Arts


The Department of Fine and Performing Arts (DFPA) is comprised of four distinct areas of study: Dance, Fine ArtsMusic, and Theatre. These areas are combined to promote dynamic artistic and academic opportunities for our students. Approximately 80 full and part time faculty members, actively involved in creative work, performance, and independent scholarship, teach and train over 400 student majors and minors in the department.

Students can choose a course of study from any of our 8 different majors or 11 different minors, or simply choose to explore a class in the art that interests them. 

Our students are challenged to attentively experience and critically engage different aesthetic experiences, to develop and improve communication skills, and to relate the artistic experience to other fields. Our undergraduate programs prepare students for graduate work and employment in many dynamic cultural professions. The academic programs of the DFPA are complemented throughout the year by over 100 public presentations, performances, and exhibitions.

Our Mission

The Department of Fine and Performing Arts engages the transformative power of art to enrich the individual and connect communities. We provide students with theory and skill-based instruction within the context of a strong Jesuit liberal arts curriculum, and we engage audiences through extensive public programming in Dance, Fine Arts, Music, and Theatre. For more information, contact us at dfpa@luc.edu.