Loyola University Chicago

Department of History

Paul S. Lietz Award for Outstanding Historical Scholarship

‌The Paul S. Lietz Award for Outstanding Historical Scholarship is the history department's highest honor. Chosen by the history department faculty, the award is given to a graduating senior based on the merit of the student’s scholarly work. The Lietz Award winner receives a $500 prize.

List of Lietz Award Winners

Professor Paul S. Lietz (1906-1987) began teaching at Loyola in 1940, the year he completed his doctoral dissertation on "Don Vasco de Quiroga and the Second Audiencia of New Spain" and received his Ph.D. degree from the university. He had received his bachelor`s degree in history from Loyola in 1929 and his master`s degree in 1935 after completing his M.A. thesis on "Chicago in 1870." He was named chairman of the History Department in 1953, a position he held 17 years. He retired in 1976, becoming Professor Emeritus.

Prof. Lietz also was a member of Loyola`s athletic board and once coached its tennis team. Before he began his career at Loyola University, he had taught at Loyola Academy almost 10 years.

"His life was synonymous with Loyola from 1940 to 1980," said Professor Richard Matre, provost of Loyola`s Medical Center and a former History professor with Prof. Leitz in the 1950s and 1960s.

Born in Mexico City where his father, an engineer, was helping build the Mexican Railroad System, Prof. Lietz was a recognized authority on Latin American history and Hispanic affairs. He wrote many scholarly journal articles and books and was a Fulbright lecturer in Cuba. In the summers of 1947 and 1950, he was sent to South America and Cuba by the State Department to serve as a visiting professor of U.S. history. He also was a member of the American Historical Society, the Mississippi Valley Historical Society and a research fellow at the Newberry Library.

 Paul S. Lietz Award Recipients


2023 Kaitlyn Bartels
2022 Lily Cate Gunther-Canada
2021 Emily Van Cleave
2020 Kathleen Koehnke
2019 Bradley MacDonald
2018 Thomas George
2017 Alexa Lindsley
2016 Kyle Jenkins
2015 Megan Meagher
2014 Daniel Ziemniak
2013 Charles Heinrich
2012 Charis Caputo
2011 Lauren Cannizzaro
2010 Kevin Mack
2009 Krystle Reniguntala
2008 Brendan Daley
2007 David Pfeiffer
2006 Dermot W. Lynch
2005 Charles S. Higgins
2004 Kathryn M. Wilmot
2003 Christopher M. Gilbert
2002 Lisa M. Tyminski
2001 Meredith P. Murphy
2000 William F. Ferguson
1999  Timothy J. Lynch
1998 Eugene Polissky
1997  Matthew K. Impola
1996 Trevor D. Jones
1995 Paul B. Wesemann
1994  Paul M. F. Stark
1993 Mario D'Amato
1992 Kara E. Stibora
1991 Anthony P. Diaz
1990 Lana M. Kubiatowski
1989 Paul J. Keller
1988 Amy E. Correll
1987 Helena M. Ledic
1986 Christopher D. Liesen
1985 Linas Smulkstys
1984 Chris J. Chulos
1983 Joan T. Batchen
1982 Mark Walker
1981 Ann Minciotti
Helen Minciotti (shared)
1980 Howard Lieber
Gilbert A. Webb (shared)
1979 David R. Geocaris
1978 Deborah Rybka
1976 Samuel Batsell
1975 Robert J. McHugh