Loyola University Chicago

University Archives & Special Collections

School of Law

The School of Law was established in 1908 when several Catholic attorneys in Chicago wrote a letter to Alexander J. Burrowes, S.J., the first president of Loyola University, and requested that the university establish a Catholic law school. The school was originally called the Lincoln College of Law and is Loyola's first professional school.