×

First Generation Law Students (FGLS) is a newly chartered organization at the Loyola University Chicago School of Law which exists to create an academic and social support network to help students succeed in law school. The organization aims at providing programming around academic, professional, and personal support to students who are the first in their family to attend law school. Starting law school, as exciting as it may be, can bring out feelings of anxiety and imposter syndrome. As an organization, we believe it is imperative that our members know they are not alone, and that there is a community of individuals eager to support them through this journey.

2020-2021 Executive Board

Co-President: Brittany Green - bgreen5@luc.edu
Co-President: B. Alvarez - balvarez2@luc.edu
Director of Finance: Patrick Michaelis - pmichaelis@luc.edu
Director of Communication: Jaime Nolasco - jnolasco1@luc.edu
Career and Admissions Chair: Karrie Virgin - kvirgin@luc.edu
Events Chair: Christopher Wiltowski - cwiltowski@luc.edu

Major Activities and Events: pending due to COVID planning, will update as information becomes available.

How Can I Join?

All First-Generation law students at Loyola University Chicago School of Law are automatically members of FGLS. Any student in good standing may join FGLS by signing up on our TWEN page. All students are invited to participate in our events and programs.

How Can I Hold A Leadership Position?

Executive Board members are elected to their positions during the Spring semester. A candidate info session will be held in early April. Candidates must submit a letter of intent as part of the elections process. An open forum with the candidates may be held in mid-April. Voting will take place during the last week of April.

For more information, visit us on TWEN or Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/groups/663204594407534/about).